If you hurt yourself while working, that pain can quickly give way to fear. How are you going to pay for those pricey emergency room bills? Will you lose your job? What will happen to you and your family if you can’t work anymore?
Workplace injury benefits in Connecticut can soften the financial blow when you’re injured on the job. Here’s what you need to know about filing for worker’s comp in our state.
What to Do After a Workplace Injury in Connecticut
Some people may refuse to see a doctor after they’re hurt at work. Accidents on the job can be embarrassing, so they try to make it seem like their injuries aren’t really that bad.
But it’s important to visit a doctor even if you think you weren’t seriously hurt. Injuries that seem minor right after your accident can flare up days later. Plus, skipping the doctor could give your employer’s insurance company a reason to deny your worker’s comp claim.
So long as you see a doctor who’s listed under your employer’s insurance plan, worker’s compensation should pay for the cost of your treatment. This, in turn, can help you avoid worrying about financial repercussions.
You’ll also need to report the injury or illness to your employer as soon as you can. Connecticut gives you one year from the date of the accident to file for worker’s compensation. If you miss the deadline, you’ll lose out on worker’s comp benefits.
What Does Worker’s Compensation Cover?
Workplace injury benefits in Connecticut cover you even if you share blame for your injuries. If you hurt yourself because you were using alcohol or drugs, though, worker’s compensation won’t give you any benefits at all.
In Connecticut, all employers need to carry this insurance if they have at least one employee. Workplace injury benefits in Connecticut provide:
- Medical care, including emergency treatment, surgery, medication, and physical therapy
- Wage replacement if you temporarily can’t work
- Permanent disability benefits, which pay 75% of your lost wages based on your weekly paycheck after taxes
- Benefits for disfigurement and scarring
- Training if you need to find a new job because of your injuries
- Annual cost-of-living adjustment if you’re permanently disabled or temporarily totally disabled for five or more years
- Benefits for dependents if an employee dies from their injuries
When Do Worker’s Compensation Benefits Start?
Benefits kick in on the fourth day after filing a worker’s compensation claim. If you’re disabled for more than seven days, Connecticut eliminates the three-day waiting period and pays benefits from the date of your injury.
For partial disability, the state allows you to claim benefits for up to 10 years or 520 weeks. If your accident left you fully disabled, benefits last for as long as you need treatment.
Call a Personal Injury Lawyer if You’re Hurt at Work
After a workplace accident, you’re probably facing a stack of pricey treatment bills and wondering how you’ll pay for them. You might also lose out on a paycheck if you can’t do your job anymore.
Workplace injury benefits in Connecticut can give you some peace of mind, but your employer’s insurance company might try to deny your claim. It might say that your accident really happened at home, for instance. The insurer may also deny your claim if you didn’t seek medical treatment for your injuries right away.
If the insurance company refuses to pay you, contact The Law Offices of James A. Welcome at (203) 753-7300. We’ll help you understand the worker’s compensation claims process and fight to reverse claim denials on your behalf.